New Volume Promo Photo
New Volume Logo

Facebook    Twitter   

Band Members

Tyron Layley - Lead Singer/Guitar
Ryan Morris - Lead Guitar/Vocals
Adam Jenkins - Drums


New Volume create alternative rock that can make you think or make you move. The South Africa-born and London-based trio—Tyron Layley [lead vocals, guitar], Ryan Morris [lead guitar/vocals], and Adam Jenkins [drums]—find soul within electronic-tinged soundscapes on their full-length debut album, Envy [Sumerian Records]. In fact, the robust and rich nature of the sound belies the fact there’s only three band members.
“We’re a three-piece, but we decided we weren’t going to be bound by that,” affirms Tyron. “Playing around with a Moog and synths inspired us to break free from the bass, drums, and guitar approach. It was the benchmark for where we wanted the sound and band to go.”
High school friends, the boys traded South Africa for London together, setting their sights on realizing a lifelong collective musical dream. In 2013, they formed New Volume equally indebted to soul and blues as eighties Depeche Mode. Independently, they toured throughout the UK and Europe with the likes of Anberlin and Young Guns even achieving #1 radio success in countries such as Poland. Sumerian Records stumbled upon their music online in 2014, inking a deal with the group shortly thereafter. The process of recording and producing Envy would tap into a singular mystique.
 “We like to do everything ourselves,” he continues. “We’ve always had a very specific vision in mind.”
That comes to life on the 2016 single “Back to Blood.” Building from a delicate hum, the song eventually spirals into an infectious and impassioned chorus. “It’s a two-part story of a family feud I had,” admits Tyron. “The first part paints a picture of my sister and I going through some issues, and the second part is an angry version of that feud happening.”
Meanwhile, the album opener “One Touch” illuminates a striking balance between seductive melodies and delightfully uneasy sonic tension.
“That song kicked off the entire record,” he adds. “Lyrically, we tried to explore things like sex and love from an adult perspective. It’s a mature look at things everyone deals with and goes through.”
New Volume must be seen as well as heard though. It’s their live show that amplifies the entire experience.
“You’ve got to see a show,” Tyron leaves off. “That’s where the music and the aesthetic come together. We hope you feel what we felt while making this.”
It’s a new chapter for alternative music.




  • After The Burial
  • Animals As Leaders
  • Asking Alexandria
  • Bad Omens
  • Betraying The Martyrs
  • Between The Buried and Me
  • Black Veil Brides
  • Body Count
  • Born of Osiris
  • CHON
  • Circa Survive
  • Crosses (†††)
  • Danny Worsnop
  • Dead Posey
  • Drag Me Out
  • Erra
  • Evan Brewer
  • From First to Last
  • I See Stars
  • In Motive
  • Jonathan Davis
  • Juliet Simms
  • Lee McKinney
  • Mestis
  • Night Riots
  • Nita Strauss
  • Oceano
  • Palaye Royale
  • Poppy
  • Slaughter To Prevail
  • Sleeping With Sirens
  • Soreption
  • Starbenders
  • Stick To Your Guns
  • Stray From The Path
  • T.R.A.M.
  • The Dillinger Escape Plan
  • The Faceless
  • The Federal Empire
  • Thomas Giles
  • Through Fire
  • Veil of Maya

© 2010-2020 Sumerian Records - All Rights Reserved.