The HAARP Machine Promo Photo
The HAARP Machine Logo

Facebook    YouTube    Twitter   

Band Members

Al Mu'min - Guitar, Sitar, Koto
Oliver Rooney - Bass
Alex Rüdinger - Drums/Percussion
Michael Semesky - Vocals



The UK's newest progressive extreme metal juggernaut, The HAARP Machine, has created quite the buzz within the metal world upon announcing their worldwide signing to Sumerian Records. However, most people don't realize how forward-thinking this band is and how attuned they are to the socioeconomic issues that plague today's society. Their message and music is truly the definitive of progressive metal. Expect the band's much anticipated, debut full-length album in late 2011 and this disc is definitely going to turn some heads.

Al Mu'min (guitars) states: “Our debut album is an amalgamation of many influences across the spectrum and lyrically addresses many of the socioeconomic and political issues in our society today. We hope it will open doors for listeners and broaden their musical horizons as well as spark an interest in areas that dictate our lives, but are swept under the rug to maintain the status quo and keep the populace aloof to the sick capitalist venture of the big money cartels. We feel very fortunate to be in this position and wish to use this opportunity to spread the word on social change via the application of the scientific method for the betterment of humankind. There IS an alternative to the un-sane society we live in and it is our duty to this planet and all its inhabitants to awaken the sleepers. We can no longer ignore the writings on the wall. The time for change is now.”

The HAARP Machine started in 2007 as a creative outlet for Mu'min to express his musical passion and with the hopes of turning it into a career. He composed his first album in his bedroom on his own between ’07 and ’09, whilst trying to find able musicians who shared the same passion and drive. After failing to ever get a solid lineup, he recorded a few demos which got some attention, but ultimately went unnoticed for the most part. Things soon charged once Mu'min contacted Dan Foord (Sikth) in autumn of ’09 to session on an EP he planned to release to get people’s attention and give the music a chance. This collaboration worked and soon people started to listen. He now had something to attract serious musicians and finally solidify a line-up.
Unfortunately, Foord couldn’t commit to being in a full-time band and the search then began for a replacement who was more inclined to commit to potentially touring. That replacement was soon found in Craig Reynolds (Viatrophy). He was contacted initially to session live, but he was so impressed once he heard the material that he expressed interest in becoming a full-time member. Over the course of the next year or so The HAARP Machine went through many line-up changes. During that period they released a pre-production demo just to maintain what little interest they had when out of nowhere Sumerian Records' owner Ash Avildsen reached out to Mu'min to offer the band a record deal.



  • After The Burial
  • Animals As Leaders
  • Asking Alexandria
  • Bad Omens
  • Betraying The Martyrs
  • Between The Buried and Me
  • Black Veil Brides
  • Body Count
  • Born of Osiris
  • CHON
  • Circa Survive
  • Crosses (†††)
  • Danny Worsnop
  • Dead Posey
  • Drag Me Out
  • Erra
  • Evan Brewer
  • From First to Last
  • I See Stars
  • In Motive
  • Jonathan Davis
  • Juliet Simms
  • Lee McKinney
  • Mestis
  • Night Riots
  • Nita Strauss
  • Oceano
  • Palaye Royale
  • Poppy
  • Slaughter To Prevail
  • Sleeping With Sirens
  • Soreption
  • Starbenders
  • Stick To Your Guns
  • Stray From The Path
  • T.R.A.M.
  • The Dillinger Escape Plan
  • The Faceless
  • The Federal Empire
  • Thomas Giles
  • Through Fire
  • Veil of Maya

© 2010-2020 Sumerian Records - All Rights Reserved.