Lee McKinney Promo Photo
Lee McKinney Logo

Facebook    Twitter   

Band Members

Lee McKinney - Mastermind


Lee McKinney is best known as the guitarist and composer of the progressive metal band Born of Osiris. He produces, records, and engineers out of Osiris Studios, where he helped to produce and engineer the band’s 2011 and 2013 releases The Discovery, and Tomorrow We Die Alive. Lee also writes and produces electronic music by the moniker DIMIR.

Born Lee Patrick McKinney on April 24, 1989, he grew up in the northwest suburbs of Chicago. Lee picked up the guitar at age 10 and knew immediately that music was his passion. To that end, he began practicing up to 6-10 hours a day in effort to become the most he could be at his instrument. Some of his early influences include Randy Rhoads, Eric Johnson, Dimebag Darrell, Steve Vai, Yngwie Malmsteen, Steve Ray Vaughan, Joe Satriani, and more.

In 2007 at the age of 17, Born of Osiris was offered a record contract from Sumerian Records.

Some bands roll with the tide, while others generate it. Exhuming technically proficient and progressive metal, Born of Osiris exerted a seismic impact on heavy music with it’s trend-setting 2007 debut, The New Reign. They continued to shake things up with the 2009 and 2011 releases A Higher Place, and the Discovery - both of which placed them in the Billboard top 100, as well as top ten in the US Hard Rock Charts.

In 2013, teaming up with acclaimed producers Joey Sturgis (The Devil Wears Prada, Asking Alexandria) and Nick Sampson, the group were to explode like never before. Manipulating 6-string and 7-string guitars to push their boundaries further than ever, the Chicago 5-piece set a new paradigm in heavy music with Tomorrow We Die Alive. TWDA put the band at number 27 on the Top 100 Billboard music charts, 8 on the US indie Charts, 10 on the US Rock Charts, and top 3 on the US Hard Rock Charts.

In the wake of releasing and touring on TWDA, Lee released his debut electronic EP as DIMIR, which immediately shot its way up to the top 25 Electro House releases in 2014.

Born of Osiris are currently in the studio to record their highly anticipated 2015 release. Lee’s next DIMIR release the UNWIND EP is set to hit stores mid March. Aside from his debut solo single SKYLASHER, he has already begun the writing process for a debut full length solo album - said to see release sometime in early 2016. 

  • After the Burial
  • American Sin
  • Animals As Leaders
  • Asking Alexandria
  • Bad Omens
  • Betraying The Martyrs
  • Between The Buried and Me
  • Body Count
  • Born of Osiris
  • CHON
  • Circa Survive
  • Crosses (†††)
  • Dead Posey
  • Down & Dirty
  • Endur
  • Erra
  • Evan Brewer
  • From First to Last
  • I See Stars
  • In Motive
  • Jonathan Davis
  • Lee McKinney
  • Mestis
  • New Volume
  • Night Riots
  • Nita Strauss
  • Oceano
  • Palaye Royale
  • Periphery
  • September Mourning
  • Slaughter To Prevail
  • Soreption
  • Stick To Your Guns
  • Stray From The Path
  • T.R.A.M.
  • The Dillinger Escape Plan
  • The Faceless
  • The Kindred
  • Thomas Giles
  • Through Fire
  • Upon A Burning Body
  • Veil of Maya

© 2010-2018 Sumerian Records - All Rights Reserved.